Wrexham bus driver shortlisted as national 'Champion'

01 February 16

A Wrexham bus driver could be about to be crowned one of the best in the UK, after being chosen as one of Arriva’s regional Bus Champions by the people who know best – the customers.

As part of its national recognition scheme, Arriva received more than 300 nominations from bus users wanting to say ‘thank you’ to those drivers who consistently go above and beyond to deliver great service,  and Darren Bevan, who drives services across Wrexham, was one of many who’s commitment and dedication stood out.

Now, Darren will face the public vote once again, as passengers are invited to choose who makes the national final this April.

Eve Marie Ginever, PR and Communications Manager from Arriva, said: “We’re big believers that through great endeavour you can achieve great reward – whether you’re a supreme athlete, a corporate high-flyer, or a bus driver on the road. We all have greatness within us and that is exactly what we want to showcase with this award.

“Our drivers are the heartbeat of our business – and they really do care about the customers they serve and communities they are part of.  We are incredibly proud of how Darren consistently goes that extra mile to ensure excellence on board their buses. We would urge anyone wanting to show their support for Darren, and take them all the way to the final, to go online now and share their thanks for being a true bus champion, through and through.”

The ‘Bus Champion – Driver of the Year’ title forms part of Arriva’s annual ‘Made A Difference’ (M.A.D) Awards campaign, a national recognition programme which looks at all elements of the bus company, including; engineering, depot management and back office functions.

The top regional drivers voted for by customers, will be celebrated during a glittering ceremony on 21st April, where the overall national Bus Champion will be announced.

To see the regional shortlists, or to vote for your favourites, visit the website at arrivabus.co.uk/champions. Alternatively you can email your vote to [email protected]